Pascale Chabanet

Pascale CHABANET

Position: Director of research at IRD Reunion, UR Biocomplexity of coral ecosystems of the Indo-Pacific

Scientific skills: ecology of coral reefs, impact of disturbances on corals and associated fish.

Geyser 2006 ...
10 years later, the same team of "fish counters" ...
The coral seascapes almost as beautiful ... but almost more sharks, giant groupers and other predators, no.1 fishing targets ... and more fearful fish too ... feeling of having lost something, like a part of childhood and dreams too ...
Above the reef, Antsiva is waiting for us ... it was not the junk of Ernest 10 years ago ... but a boat probably more adapted to the needs of 9 scientists aboard ... sockets to operate our computers, a total comfort, space (even for yoga!) ... and maybe especially the atmosphere on board, the captain and his team: Nicolas, his phlegm and his stories that made us dream, Lou and her cakes, Isabelle and her kitchen and Tombo imperturbable even under the scorching sun and the ambient air that vibrates to the sound of the compressor ...
Unforgettable mission ... "We could do like home on the boat", word of the captain ... And it was almost that, with in addition the coral reef below and the starry sky like roof ... Thank you for sharing your dream Nicolas ... I hope we will return to count the fish and stars on your boat ... before 10 years!
Feather

Mission lived with Antsiva

facilisis at id consectetur ipsum risus. mi, felis Aliquam elementum

Geyser 2006…
10 ans après, la même équipe de « compteurs de poissons »…
Les paysages marins coralliens presque aussi beaux … mais presque plus de requins, de mérous géants et autres prédateurs, cibles n°1 de la pêche… et des poissons plus craintifs aussi… sensation d’avoir perdu quelque chose, comme une part d’enfance et de rêves aussi…
Au-dessus du récif, Antsiva nous attend… ce n’était plus la jonque d’Ernest d’il y a 10 ans… mais un bateau sans doute plus adapté aux besoins de 9 scientifiques à bord… des prises de courants pour faire fonctionner nos ordinateurs, un confort total, de l’espace (même pour le yoga !)… et peut-être surtout l’ambiance à bord, le capitaine et son équipe : Nicolas, son flegme et ses histoires qui nous ont fait rêver, Lou et ses gâteaux, Isabelle et sa cuisine et Tombo imperturbable même sous le soleil brûlant et l’air ambiant qui vibre au son du compresseur…
Mission inoubliable… « On poulait faire comme à la maison sur le bateau », parole du capitaine… Et c’était presque ça, avec en plus le récif corallien dessous et le ciel étoilé comme toit… Merci de nous faire partager ton rêve Nicolas… J’espère bien qu’on reviendra compter les poissons et les étoiles sur ton bateau… avant 10 ans !
Plume

Menu