Vincent BOULLET

Vincent BOULLET

Position: National Botanical Conservatory of Mascarin

Like all oceanic islands, Europa is a hard-to-reach destination for plants that do not have their own means of travel. Marine currents, wind, birds are the only means of passive dissemination that allow the arrival of seeds, cuttings .. on these isolated lands. But Europa is a rebel to colonization: recent emergence of land (quaternary), unfavorable marine currents, sub-arid climate, coral limestone substrate eroded in lapiaz, absence of evolved soils have singularly limited the plant population ... Few elected among the plants have thus solved this implacable insular equation: to arrive, to germinate, to implant itself, that is to say to grow and to reproduce ... The natural population in vascular plants does not exceed forty species ...
The man, especially on the occasion of his sustainable settlements on the island (exploitation of Sisal in the early twentieth, installation of the weather station, airstrips and military camp) brought with him an almost equal contingent of introduced plants.
Following short visits by botanists and naturalists to Europa, 46 species of vascular plants have been observed for almost a century (the first data date back to 1904). The Europa 2006 mission has made it possible to inventory nearly 70 species in total (ie about 25 new ones for the island, more precise figures depending on the examination of a certain number of critical plants) and to correct certain preliminary determinations. In addition, it allowed to discover the first two ferns of the island (2 species of Ophioglossus). But above all, it allowed the first description and monograph of the island's vegetation (202 phytosociological surveys and numerous vegetation transects), from which we can extract the following essential features:
- low diversity of plants, but a wide variety of habitats, including barnacles and brackish steppes
- strong affinities of the natural flora of Europa with the flora of the subarid regions of Tuléar which had to constitute the source of the natural vegetation of the island; probable influences of other Scattered Islands in plant introductions, particularly at the current runway;
- good general state of conservation, with the exception of the sub-interior forests of Euphorbia stenoclada, which have suffered considerably from fire and clearing;
- threats of plant invasions seemingly weak and currently limited to areas disturbed by human occupation, current impact of goats still difficult to identify, but probably stronger on anthropized spaces than on natural vegetation ...

Mission lived with Antsiva

risus. ipsum odio dapibus Praesent commodo

Comme toutes les îles océaniques, Europa est une destination difficile à atteindre pour les plantes qui ne disposent pas de moyen propre de déplacement. Courants marins, vent, oiseaux sont les seuls moyens de dissémination passive qui permettent l’arrivée de semences, boutures.. sur ces terres isolées. Mais, Europa est une rebelle à la colonisation : émergence récente des terres (quaternaire), courants marins peu favorables, climat subaride, substrat de calcaire corallien érodé en lapiaz, absence de sols évolués en ont singulièrement limité le peuplement végétal… Peu d’élus parmi les végétaux ont donc résolu cette implacable équation insulaire : arriver, germer, s’implanter, c’est-à-dire croître et se reproduire… Le peuplement naturel en plantes vasculaires ne dépasse pas quarante espèces…
L’homme, notamment à l’occasion de ses implantations durables dans l’île (exploitation du Sisal au début du XXe, installation de la station météo, des pistes d’aviation et du camp militaire) a amené avec lui un contingent presque égal de plantes introduites.
A la suite de courtes visites de quelques botanistes et naturalistes à Europa, 46 espèces de plantes vasculaires ont été observées depuis près d’un siècle (les premières données datent de 1904). La mission Europa 2006 a permis d’inventorier près de 70 espèces au total (donc environ 25 nouvelles pour l’île, des chiffres plus précis dépendant de l’examen d’un certain nombres de plantes critiques) et de corriger certaines déterminations préalables. En outre, elle a permis de découvrir les deux premières fougères de l’île (2 espèces d’Ophioglosse). Mais elle a surtout permis la première description et monographie de la végétation de l’île (202 relevés phytosociologiques et nombreux transects de végétation réalisés), dont on peut extraire les traits essentiels suivants :
– faible diversité de plantes, mais grande variété d’habitats, notamment de sansouires et de steppes saumâtres
– fortes affinités de la flore naturelle d’Europa avec la flore des régions subarides de Tuléar qui ont dû constituer la source du peuplement végétal naturel de l’île ; influences probables des autres îles Éparses dans les introductions de plantes , notamment au niveau de la piste actuelle d’atterrissage ;
– bon état général de conservation, à l’exception des forêts subarides intérieures à Euphorbia stenoclada, qui ont considérablement souffert des feux et des défrichements ;
– menaces d’invasions végétales apparemment faibles et limitées actuellement aux espaces perturbés par l’occupation humaine, impact actuel des chèvres encore difficile à cerner, mais probablement plus fort sur les espaces anthropisés que sur les végétations naturelles…

Menu