In search of new bioactive molecules

Diving scientific missions Chemistry

Location: The Mitsio Archipelago

Conducted in 2012

Mission: BIOMOL TCN

Expedition Leader : Anne BIALEKI - Réunion University

The 10 days spent aboard the Antsiva, allowed us to make 12 beautiful dives or a sample of a hundred samples. The dive sites chosen on the advice of the captain of the boat who knows the area perfectly, all had a biodiversity of great wealth. Ideal dive conditions (weather, perfect dive equipment, easy access to dive sites through an annex ...), we can add without hesitation, extremely comfortable living conditions on a boat very well designed and arranged. To name just a few examples: several workspaces, a beautiful storage space for scientific equipment, the provision of a freezer (oh so essential for us!), Balanced and delicious meals, thought and concocted by Anne comfortable sleeping cabins ... To all this, we must emphasize the great conviviality initiated by Anne and Nicolas who both make it a point of honor to satisfy our needs and our desideratas.

A huge thank you to Anne, Nicolas and the crew. In the hope that we can lead a new collection campaign by your side!

Context

Madagascar and the satellite volcanic archipelagos: the Seychelles, the Comoros, Mauritius (including Rodrigues), the Scattered Islands as well as the French Overseas Departments Reunion and Mayotte, constitute one of the hotspots of terrestrial and marine biodiversity worldwide . These tropical islands form a unique jewel, containing a biological treasure of the most precious and without equivalent on a planetary scale. The level of endemism is particularly high. However, due to the extreme vulnerability of these island ecosystems to human impacts (alteration and loss of habitat, introduction of invasive species, destructive harvesting methods and overexploitation of natural resources), flora and fauna of this Hotspot are greatly threatened. The effects of extreme natural phenomena such as cyclones or volcanic flows can also be periodically important. Moreover, the responses to environmental threats in most of the islands of this Hotspot encounter several constraints:
1- Infrastructure and technical expertise are weak;
2- The general public is not very sensitive to environmental problems because it does not understand the issues;
3- Aspects related to the environment are poorly integrated and not taken into account in the development policies put in place;
4- Information on the state of natural resources and biodiversity is insufficient.
On this last point, the contribution of scientists is paramount. Researchers can, in fact, act for a better census of biodiversity and a better understanding of the evolutionary processes of this biodiversity. This information will be made available to politico-strategic decision-makers to better integrate them into regional concerns.

Among the research organizations active in favor of biodiversity in the South-Western part of the Indian Ocean, the University of Reunion has prioritized in its research strategy "the valorization and protection of terrestrial and marine biodiversity" . Its strategic position in the heart of the West Indian Ocean is an undeniable asset; it offers exceptional research conditions for the observation and study of biodiversity. Implanted at the University of La Réunion, the Laboratory of Chemistry of Natural Substances and Food Sciences (LCSNSA), through its studies on the chemodiversity carried out on both plants and marine organisms, actively contributes to the development of this theme of privileged research.

With particular reference to marine chemistry, the LCSNSA has made its mark in the field since the early 1990s. The laboratory's researchers are involved in the extraction, isolation and identification of secondary metabolites of marine invertebrates (sponges). mainly ascidians and alcyons).

Purpose of the research

The scientific mission carried out aboard the Antsiva is part of a research project carried by the LCSNSA (Jacqueline Smadja - Anne Bialecki) and financed by Europe and the Reunion Region (ERDF: European Development Fund Regional). This project, whose acronym is BIOMOL TCN, is entitled "Therapeutic, Cosmetological and Nutracetic Activities of Molecules derived from Terrestrial, Marine and Microbial Biodiversity in the Southwest Indian Ocean" and started during the year 2012.
On board the Antsiva, we set ourselves the mission of collecting marine invertebrates (Sponges, Ascidians and Soft Corals) located near the Mitsio Islands in northern Madagascar. All these invertebrates are intended for an exhaustive study of their chemical composition with a double objective:

Objective 1: Finding new drug candidates

This research will make it possible to discover original molecules with interesting structural and / or pharmacological properties. Natural substances have in fact always been considered as the preferred source for the discovery of drugs or active substances. It is estimated that more than 60% of drugs are either natural substances, derivatives or analogues, or molecules synthesized on the model of natural substances.
For many years, research has focused on terrestrial plants and micro-organisms, mainly because these specimens are easily accessible. Today, a growing part of the current promise of pharmaceutical research lies in the sea whose depths are populated by a biodiversity of remarkable richness. This biodiversity is associated with a fascinating chemiodiversity suggesting an extraordinary multiplicity of new possibilities in terms of pharmaceutical discoveries. It is now recognized that marine natural products are the most original representatives of molecular diversity. Marine organisms, living in a highly competitive environment, produce unique secondary metabolites that have ecological roles essential to the balance of biotopes (competition for space, colonization of surfaces, defense against predation, seduction for reproduction ...). The specificity and originality of molecules derived from marine organisms can also be explained by all the particular physicochemical characteristics of the marine environment such as high pressures, total absence of light, variable salinities or the relative abundance of water. elements such as bromine, chlorine or iodine. Marine invertebrates such as sponges, ascidians and soft corals are among the most studied organisms for their chemical composition. Among the compounds isolated from these sessile organisms, molecules with biological activities (anticancer, antiviral, anti-inflammatory, antibiotic, immunosuppressant, anti-Alzheimer ...) have been discovered, and are in preclinical or clinical trials.

Goal 2: Understand and safeguard marine biodiversity

The proposed research will contribute to the characterization of the marine biodiversity of the Southwest Indian Ocean zone through its chemical component. Chemical communication is indeed a universal mode of communication to all living beings - from unicellular plants or animals to the most complex beings. At sea even more than on land, the use of chemical mediators by living organisms is an indispensable element in establishing intra- and interspecific relations. This is especially true since among marine organisms several thousand species - this is the case for most marine invertebrates - are sessile and lack sensory organs such as vision and hearing.
Chemical ecology, with the study of the role of secondary metabolites in the mediation of biotic interactions, is at the heart of fundamental questions in evolutionary biology and functional ecology, on the functioning of ecosystems and on the dynamics and maintenance of biodiversity.

Methodology

The planned works include 4 basic steps:

1. The collection of marine invertebrates

This leg was completed aboard the Antsiva off the Mitsio Islands. The observations and samples of the organisms were carried out in scuba diving with compressed air up to 25 m depth. The divers operated in trinomial.
The samples of marine invertebrates (sponges, ascidians and alcyons) were made by hand or with a knife depending on the size of the organisms and their method of attachment to the substrate. For all studies (taxonomy, phylogenetics, chemistry, bioactivity) the aim was to collect about 500 g (wet weight) for sponges and soft corals, between 200 and 400 g for ascidians. Each organism collected was photographed in its natural environment.
On return from the dive, for each station, the crops were sorted, then, each taxon referenced by a code showing the geographical area (MAD: Madagascar), the harvest year 12 (2012) and a growing number (eg MAD13-001). A digital photograph was then made as well as a precise description recalling the shape, the color, the consistency as well as all the characteristics that could help later on the taxonomic determination.
The samples were then stored aboard the Antsiva in the freezer (at -20 ° C) and transported frozen to the Laboratory of Chemistry of Natural Substances and Food Sciences at the University of Reunion. These samples are kept frozen until chemistry studies and taxonomy and molecular phylogeny studies begin for accurate identification.

2. The selection of marine invertebrates to study

A selection of marine invertebrates to be studied is carried out in the laboratory. Each organism is subjected to standardized protocols of extraction, biological tests on defined targets (cytotoxic activities, antimalarial, anti-chikungunya ...), and first global chemical analysis (otherwise called metabolomics) by high performance liquid chromatography coupled with a mass spectrometer and nuclear magnetic resonance. The results of biological tests and chemical signatures obtained after these first treatments then allow a reasoned selection of organisms to be chemically studied. The selected marine invertebrates are then subjected to a comprehensive analysis of their chemical composition.

3. The chemical study of selected invertebrates

The secondary metabolites contained in the selected marine invertebrates are first isolated and purified by different chromatographic techniques and then identified using spectroscopic techniques such as high-resolution mass spectrometry and mono and two-dimensional nuclear magnetic resonance.
Purified and isolated, these molecules are then tested on various pharmacological targets to evaluate their biological activities: anticancer activities or antiviral (Dengue malaria, Chikungunya ...).

4. The valuation of the results

The valuation of the results will be carried out in the form of possible patent filings, scientific publications and participation in scientific congresses.

elementum massa ipsum suscipit quis, Aliquam ut libero. vulputate, sit nec

A la recherche de nouvelles molécules bioactives

Plongée missions scientifique Chimie

Lieu : L'archipel des Mitsio

Réalisée en 2012

Mission : BIOMOL TCN

Chef de mission : Anne BIALEKI - Université de la Réunion

Les 10 jours passés à bord de l’Antsiva, nous ont permis d’effectuer 12 magnifiques plongées soit un prélèvement d’une centaine d’échantillons. Les sites de plongée choisis sur les conseils avisés du capitaine du bateau qui connait parfaitement la zone, présentaient tous une biodiversité d’une très grande richesse. Aux conditions de plongée idéales (météo, matériel de plongée irréprochable, facilité d’accès aux sites de plongée grâce à une annexe…), on peut ajouter sans aucune hésitation, des conditions de séjour extrêmement confortables sur un bateau très bien conçu et aménagé. Pour ne citer que quelques exemples : plusieurs espaces de travail, un bel espace de stockage pour le matériel scientifique, la mise à disposition d’un congélateur (Ô combien indispensable pour nous !), des repas équilibrés et succulents, réfléchis et concoctés par Anne, des cabines de couchage confortables… A tout cela, il faut souligner la très grande convivialité initiée par Anne et Nicolas qui mettent tous deux un point d’honneur à satisfaire nos besoins et nos désidératas.

Un immense merci à Anne, Nicolas et à l’équipage. Dans l’espoir que nous puissions mener une nouvelle campagne de collecte à vos côtés !

Contexte

Madagascar et les archipels volcaniques satellites : les Seychelles, les Comores, Maurice (incluant Rodrigues), les îles Eparses ainsi que les Départements français d’Outre-Mer La Réunion et Mayotte, constituent l’un des Hotspots de la biodiversité terrestre et marine mondiale. Ces îles tropicales forment un écrin unique, renfermant un trésor biologique des plus précieux et sans équivalent à l’échelle planétaire. Le niveau d’endémisme y est particulièrement élevé. Cependant, en raison de la vulnérabilité extrême de ces écosystèmes insulaires face aux impacts de l’Homme (altération et perte de l’habitat, introduction d’espèces envahissantes, méthodes de collectes destructrices et surexploitation des ressources naturelles), la flore et la faune de ce Hotspot sont grandement menacées. Les effets des phénomènes naturels extrêmes tels que les cyclones ou encore les coulées volcaniques peuvent aussi être périodiquement importants. Par ailleurs, les réponses aux menaces environnementales rencontrent dans la majeure partie des îles de ce Hotspot plusieurs contraintes :
1- Les infrastructures et l’expertise technique y sont faibles ;
2- Le grand public est peu sensible aux problèmes environnementaux car il comprend mal les enjeux ;
3- Les aspects liés à l’environnement sont peu intégrés et peu pris en compte dans les politiques de développement mis en place ;
4- Les informations sur l’état des ressources naturelles et de la biodiversité sont insuffisantes.
Sur ce dernier point, la contribution des scientifiques est primordiale. Les chercheurs peuvent, en effet, agir pour un meilleur recensement de la biodiversité et une meilleure compréhension des processus évolutifs de cette biodiversité. Ces informations seront mises à disposition des décideurs politico-stratégiques pour mieux les intégrer dans les préoccupations régionales.

Parmi les organismes de recherche acteurs en faveur de la biodiversité de la partie Sud-Occidentale de l’Océan Indien, l’Université de La Réunion a inscrit prioritairement dans sa stratégie de recherche « la valorisation et la protection de la biodiversité terrestre et marine ». Sa position stratégique au cœur de la zone Ouest de l’Océan Indien est un atout indéniable ; elle offre des conditions de recherches exceptionnelles pour l’observation et l’étude de la biodiversité. Implanté à l’Université de La Réunion, le Laboratoire de Chimie des Substances Naturelles et des Sciences des Aliments (LCSNSA), par ses études sur la chimiodiversité menées aussi bien sur les plantes que les organismes marins, contribue activement au développement de cette thématique de recherche privilégiée.

Concernant plus particulièrement la chimie marine, le LCSNSA prend ses marques dans le domaine depuis le début des années 90. Les chercheurs du laboratoire s’investissent dans l’extraction, l’isolement et l’identification de métabolites secondaires d’invertébrés marins (éponges, ascidies et alcyons principalement).

Objectif des travaux de recherche

La Mission scientifique menée à bord de l’Antsiva s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche porté par le LCSNSA (Jacqueline Smadja – Anne Bialecki) et financé par l’Europe et La Région Réunion (FEDER : Fonds Européen de Développement Régional). Ce projet dont l’acronyme est BIOMOL TCN s’intitule « Activités Thérapeutiques, Cosmétologiques et Nutracétiques de Molécules issues de la Biodiversité terrestre, marine et microbienne de la zone Sud-Ouest de l’Océan Indien » et a débuté au cours de l’année 2012.
A bord de l’Antsiva, nous nous étions fixés pour mission la collecte d’invertébrés marins (Eponges, Ascidies et Coraux mous) localisés aux abords des îles Mitsio, au Nord de Madagascar. Tous ces invertébrés étant destinés à une étude exhaustive de leur composition chimique avec un double objectif :

Objectif 1 : La recherche de nouveaux candidats médicaments

Ces recherches permettront de découvrir des molécules originales aux propriétés structurales et/ou pharmacologiques intéressantes. Les substances naturelles ont en effet toujours été considérées comme la source privilégiée pour la découverte de médicaments ou de substances actives. On estime que plus de 60% des médicaments sont soit des substances naturelles, soit des dérivés ou des analogues, soit encore des molécules synthétisées sur le modèle des substances naturelles.
Pendant de nombreuses années, la recherche s’est concentrée sur les plantes et les micro-organismes terrestres, principalement parce que ces spécimens sont facilement accessibles. Aujourd’hui, une part croissante des promesses actuelles de la recherche pharmaceutique réside dans la mer dont les profondeurs sont peuplées d’une biodiversité d’une richesse remarquable. A cette biodiversité est associée une chimiodiversité fascinante laissant entrevoir une extraordinaire multiplicité de nouvelles possibilités en matière de découvertes pharmaceutiques. Il est aujourd’hui reconnu que les produits naturels marins sont les représentants les plus originaux de la diversité moléculaire. Les organismes marins, vivant dans un milieu hautement compétitif, produisent en effet des métabolites secondaires uniques qui ont des rôles écologiques essentiels à l’équilibre des biotopes (compétition pour l’espace, colonisation des surfaces, défense contre la prédation, séduction pour la reproduction…). La spécificité et l’originalité des molécules issues des organismes marins s’expliquent également par l’ensemble des caractéristiques physico-chimiques particulières du milieu marin telles que les fortes pressions, l’absence totale de lumière, des salinités variables ou la relative abondance d’éléments comme le brome, le chlore ou l’iode. Les invertébrés marins tels que les Eponges, les Ascidies et les Coraux mous font partie des organismes les plus étudiées pour leur composition chimique. Parmi les composés isolés de ces organismes sessiles, des molécules à activités biologiques (anticancéreux, antiviral, anti-inflammatoire, antibiotique, immunosuppresseur, anti-Alzheimer…) ont été découvertes, et sont en phase d’essais précliniques ou cliniques.

Objectif 2 : Comprendre et sauvegarder la biodiversité marine

Les recherches envisagées permettront de contribuer à la caractérisation de la biodiversité marine de la zone Sud-Ouest de l’Océan Indien à travers sa composante chimique. La communication chimique est en effet un mode de communication universel à tous les êtres vivants – des unicellulaires végétaux ou animaux, aux êtres les plus complexes. En mer plus encore que sur terre, l’utilisation de médiateurs chimiques par les organismes vivants constitue un élément indispensable dans l’établissement des relations intra- et interspécifiques. Ceci est d’autant plus vrai que parmi les organismes marins plusieurs milliers d’espèces – c’est le cas notamment de la plupart des invertébrés marins – sont sessiles et dépourvues d’organes sensoriels tels que la vision et l’audition.
L’écologie chimique, avec l’étude du rôle des métabolites secondaires dans la médiation des interactions biotiques, se trouve au cœur de questions fondamentales en biologie évolutive et en écologie fonctionnelle, sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et sur la dynamique et le maintien de la biodiversité.

Méthodologie

Les travaux envisagés comprennent 4 étapes fondamentales :

1. La collecte des invertébrés marins

Cette étape a été réalisée à bord de l’Antsiva au large des îles Mitsio. Les observations et prélèvements des organismes ont été réalisés en plongée autonome à l’air comprimé jusqu’à 25 m de profondeurs. Les plongeurs ont opéré en trinôme.
Les prélèvements d’invertébrés marins (Eponges, Ascidies et Alcyons) ont été effectués à la main ou à l’aide d’un couteau en fonction de la taille des organismes et de leur mode d’accrochage au substrat. Pour l’ensemble des études (taxonomie, phylogénétique, chimie, bioactivité) le but a été de récolter environ 500 g (poids mouillé) pour les éponges et coraux mous, entre 200 et 400 g pour les ascidies. Chaque organisme collecté a été photographié dans son environnement naturel.
Au retour de la plongée, pour chaque station, les récoltes ont été triées, puis, chaque taxon référencé par un code faisant apparaître la zone géographique (MAD : Madagascar), l’année de récolte 12 (2012) et un chiffre croissant (e.g. MAD13-001). Une photographie numérique a ensuite été réalisée ainsi qu’une description précise rappelant: la forme, la couleur, la consistance ainsi que toutes les caractéristiques pouvant aider ultérieurement à la détermination taxonomique.
Les échantillons ont ensuite été conservés à bord de l’Antsiva au congélateur (à -20°C) puis transportés congelés jusqu’au Laboratoire de Chimie des Substances Naturelles et des Sciences des Aliments à l’Université de La Réunion. Ces échantillons sont maintenus congelés en attendant que débutent les études de chimie ainsi que les études de taxonomie et de phylogénie moléculaire pour leur identification précise.

2. La sélection des invertébrés marins à étudier

Une sélection des invertébrés marins à étudier est réalisée au laboratoire. Chaque organisme est soumis à des protocoles standardisés d’extraction, de tests biologiques sur des cibles définies (activités cytotoxiques, antipaludique, anti-chikungunya…), et de première analyse chimique globale (autrement appelée métabolomique) par chromatographie liquide haute performance couplée à un spectromètre de masse et par résonance magnétique nucléaire. Les résultats des tests biologiques et des signatures chimiques obtenus à l’issue de ces premiers traitements permettent alors une sélection raisonnée des organismes à étudier chimiquement. Les invertébrés marins ainsi choisis font ensuite l’objet d’une analyse exhaustive de leur composition chimique.

3. L’étude chimique des invertébrés sélectionnés

Les métabolites secondaires contenus dans les invertébrés marins sélectionnés, sont dans un premier temps, isolés et purifiés par différentes techniques chromatographiques, puis identifiés au moyen de techniques spectroscopiques telles que la spectrométrie de masse haute résolution et la résonance magnétique nucléaire mono et bidimensionnelle.
Purifiées et isolées, ces molécules sont alors testées sur diverses cibles pharmacologiques afin d’évaluer leurs activités biologiques : activités anticancéreuses ou encore antivirales (Paludisme Dengue, Chikungunya…).

4. La valorisation des résultats

La valorisation des résultats sera effectuée sous forme de dépôts éventuels de brevets, de publications scientifiques et de participations à des congrès scientifiques.

et, Sed ipsum commodo nunc eget nec porta. amet,