Biodiversity of the Glorieuses Marine Park

Tortue verte mission PANAMAG parc marin des Glorieuses

Location: Gorieuses

Conducted in 2015

Mission: PANAMAG1

Expedition Leader : Katia BALLORAIN

This new PANAMAG 1 mission is part of the implementation of the management plan for the Glorieuses Marine Nature Park and will be structured around four components. So, let's board the Antsiva, a new group of scientists composed of 4 teams each with specific goals to achieve.
Team "Turtles" composed of Mayeul, Claire and Katia the team Herbier with Marine and Katia, the team Water Quality with Eric and Clément and finally the team Holoturies composed of Thierry and Alexandra.

Once the equipment and the scientists are installed, the ANTSIVA weighs anchor. At the end of the pass Bandrélé we meet conditions of navigations of damsel, but it is not necessary to drag because a front bringing strong winds coming from the Glorious ones announces itself in the next hours.

Saturday September 26th

15h30n we arrive at Glorious and wet in front of the landing stage. We immediately put the two annexes in the water and Katia, Clément and Nicolas go down to land for a first contact with the policeman and two legionnaires
Marine, the dive manager takes the opportunity to give us a little reminder about the operation of oxygen cylinders and the progress of the dives.
Then, a general briefing is organized at the beginning of the evening. The Kelonia boat will arrive in a week, which disturbs the program a little. Therefore, the 4 teams will have to juggle the two annexes of Antsiva. Negotiations take place in the evening as an aperitif, but with Caipirina helping, solutions are easily found.

Sunday, September 27 - Day 1 of work

25 knots of wind with a formed sea. Even at anchor the boat dances gently in front of the landing stage. Working conditions are not easy, but scientists are hard at work from the very beginning.
The team "Holoturies" composed of Thierry and Alexandra is first deposited on the ground and will realize two stations on the flat. Since illegal sea cucumber fishing is very common in the area, the first objective is to estimate the abundance of commercial species.
Then the Orange Annex goes with two other teams: "Herbarium and Water Quality"
The Herbier team, made up of Marine and Katia, must first and foremost carry out the inventory and cartography of the seagrass beds and define the monitoring stations, this is done through truth observations in the field of diving or towed transects.
The Water Quality team, composed of Clément and Eric will establish an inventory of the general quality of water and sediments.
While Marine realizes points of truth on the seagrass, Eric and Clément take care of the deployment in diving of 3 probes which will follow in a very fine way the T °, the Conductivity and the level of water: 2 probes Temperature / pressure are deployed and another high-frequency multi-parameter probe is wetted on a 3rd site.
In the afternoon, the Water Quality team stays on board and collects sediments since the anchorage of ANTSIVA. To do this a return pulley is struck at the gantry and the handling cable of the bucket is brought to one of the genoa winches. After some tune up the tipper is full of sand of Alimeda of great finesse. (Teaching # 1 plus the sediment sample is fine plus stinks). After the sediment it is necessary to collect a water sample. A 5L niskin is implemented to allow sampling for the different analyzes. In parallel a multiparameter probe is used for the general characteristics (T °, Conductivity, Salinity, dissolved Oxygen, pH).
The Turtles team composed of Mayeul, Claire and Katia must improve knowledge on immature green turtles and in particular their feeding behavior. For this, GOPRO cameras will be fixed on the shell of 10 turtles and record all their movements for 4 hours.
The team returns just before dark, a little peeved. Unfavorable tidal conditions and wind-blown waters did not facilitate their work: they were able to capture only one turtle and the turtle nicknamed "Lilliput" was too small to be equipped with a tag and a GoPro camera.

Monday, September 28 - Day 2 of work

The weather conditions remain the same but the motivation of all is intact. Also, at sunrise the two annexes are already on the water.
For the ground truth, the "herbarium" team uses two observation techniques, a camera immersed one meter above the bottom that will collect the data in depth and the "Manta-Tow". The latter technique is to equip with PMT and transects by being towed, which can cover much larger surfaces.
Then, around 8 o'clock in the morning, the two teams "Holothuries and Herbiers" are deposited on land where the gendarme is waiting for them with the tractor to transport them with their equipment to the east of the island. While Thierry and Alexandra perform two sea cucumber stations on the flat, Eric and Clément collect water and sediment.
Today, the team "Turtle" is hopeful. Three turtles are captured: Black, First and Thalassia. The latter two are equipped with a Gopro camera and a beacon and are released the same day.
Along with the capture of turtles, several Herbarium transects are made during the day.

Tuesday 29 - Day 3 of work

This morning, a humpback whale is seen from the anchorage for the greatest pleasure of all.
Acquisitions continue despite the difficult weather conditions. A slight lull announces itself in the morning that we immediately take advantage to organize the first dives with the team "Holoturies". This works by deploying for each station 3 large transects 100m long and 5m wide, covering an area of 3000 m2 each dive. There is no significant density, so they will have to multiply the stations in order to obtain exploitable results.
The "Turtle" team is moving forward with a single shot, Mushroom will be immediately equipped with its pack "Go Pro + tag"
Every evening, Jérôme Bourjea stayed on land at Ifremer and follows the satellite turtles and gives their positions to facilitate their recapture and consequently to recover the Gopro.
Jérôme is the initiator of this new data collection formula, he was able to test it in March 2015 on Juan de Nova with Stéphane Ciccione (Kelonia). Every night, he encourages the Turtle team by email.

Wednesday, September 30 - Day 4 of work

The whale and its calf are close to the ANTSIVA and evolve in the shallow waters of the flat. We are lucky enough to follow them within 500m of the boat all morning.
Today, the team "Turtle" has a smile: 6 captures and 6 GB Pro installed and deployed the same day. This brings to 9 the number of equipped turtles. Their goal of 10 now seems achievable.

Thursday October 1 - Day 5 of work

Acquisitions are continuing despite the always difficult weather conditions.
The "Holoturies" team, in addition to diving observations, adopts the "manta tow" technique. Thierry and Alexandra were unsure of being able to do Manta Tow on sea cucumbers because of lack of visibility, but this technique is ultimately very effective and requires less means compared to dives. You still need a boat, a pilot, a person in charge of recording observations and transects and an observer in the water. But, thanks to this method, surfaces much larger than those planned will be able to be explored.
The team "Turtle" always surfs on a positive wave, the difficulties of the first days are forgotten. With Panamag, the 10th equipped turtle, the goal is achieved: all Go pro are deployed, it is now to re-capture.
And precisely, with the recapture of the turtle nicknamed "Bourrique", they recover their first Gopro and thus their first filmed data. Bourrique is immediately re-equipped and redeployed.

Friday, October 2 - Day 6 of work

After the Turtles team leaves the catchment area, Antsiva leaves her anchorage for a trip to the lagoon to collect sediments and water samples.
Two diagonals are sampled with a variable success rate for the sediment bin. Indeed, when the bucket falls on a detrital mixed bottom / sand, blocks (even small) of dead reef or pebbles come to block the closing of the bucket, and all the sediment collected is lost during the ascent. The solution would be to carry out a diving dive during the descent to ensure the proper closure of the latter, but the requirements of the professional dive tables being very penalizing, no diver has permission to start water to ensure the success of the tipping course (Teaching No. 2, it would require professional diving tables more suited to the work of scientists). Nevertheless, the data collection continues and the Water Quality team remains very positive about the success of its objectives.
Meanwhile, the two teams Holoturies and Herbiers were able to realize from the orange annex towed transects, a diving station and truths field on the seagrass.
At 17:00, Antsiva returns to the anchorage to find Claire and Mayeul.
The evening Weather report forecasts a good weather for the next 3 days with exceptional conditions the first two days. So we plan for the next day a trip to the island of Lys with the three teams Herbarium, Holoturia and Water Quality.

Saturday October 3rd - Day 7 of work

The arrival of the military boat "La Grandière" is scheduled for the morning. Mayeul and Claire land as they will stay to receive the Kelonia boat. They will stay 2 days on Great Glorious, sharing the life of the camp and participating in unloading maneuvers La Grandière.
Around 8 o'clock, Antsiva arrives at the anchorage of the island of Lys. Two travel catamarans seen the day before are also present. The gendarme takes advantage of the presence of the Grandière to board a zodiac and make contact with the two sailboats. They are asked to leave the area the next morning.
The two teams Herbiers and Holoturie will make transects towed around the island of Lys and two stations in scuba diving.
The Water Quality team collects water and sediment samples and sets up a DGT sampler to study chemical contamination.
Clement (TAAF) has meanwhile, a whole day of work on the islet of the lily. We leave it on the ground where it will pose about thirty rodent traps, delimit the colonies of birds, in particular the brown nodis and the terns and make an inventory of the camps of illicit fishermen.

Sunday, October 4th - Day 8 of work

Second day on the island of Lys. Scientists take advantage of this beautiful weather window to extend their observations by diving and towed transects.
A station is made on the blue hole, also called "the pool". Observations made during previous missions are confirmed: we note the abundance of a species of sea cucumber. The Herbarium team makes visual radials, covering 44 km of ground truth from the orange appendix. During their handling, they also cross a whale and its calf and a group of long-beaked dolphins.
In the afternoon, Antsiva moves to allow the Water Quality team to reach new stations to the west and north that are more exposed to the great East swell. Only the sampling of water is carried out, the sediment samples are impossible to realize because of the presence of too much rocks and meadows.
In the evening, we take news of Claire and Mayeul still on Great Glorious. They recovered their boat and immediately went back to work. With the recapture of the turtles Shark and Panamag, two new Gopro could be recovered. Shark was immediately re-equipped with a Gopro.

Monday, October 5 - Day 9 of work

This morning the wind is blowing again and the night has been particularly hectic. Clement recovers the rodent traps on the islet and we leave the anchorage to join Great Glorious. The swell is up and the boat planned for the observation of the meadows joins us. Waves of nearly 3 meters on the verge of breaking convinced them to turn back. Suddenly the exploration is organized around the anchorage of the landing stage.
Boat trips on ANTSIVA, diving, manta-tow, tipping and sediment sorting. Everyone is satisfied with the data collected.
For the Turtle team, morale is good because a new GoPRo could be recovered.
A big shark is observed in cloudy water, Mayeul thinks of a tiger shark without being able to affirm it.

Tuesday, October 6 - Day 10 of work

This morning, the team "Holoturies" takes advantage of favorable weather conditions and a small tidal coefficient to visit "Les Roches Vertes" and "Glo-3" station located on the external slope, in the East reef. The "Green Rocks" station is rich in large blue / beige starfish (Linckia laevigata) and Glo 3 remains a reference station on the east side for GCRMN monitoring, but relatively poor in abundance of sea cucumbers. Eric and Clément join the rotation to carry out a collection of sediments on the East with the small bucket.
For the team turtle is the euphoria: the goal is now reached with the recapture of 3 new Go PRO.
Today new shark sighting, it is indeed a Tiger, a young about 2.50m that Katia managed to film from the annex. From now on, the observations in Manta-Tow are done with less serenity.
Tonight a barbecue party is organized by the military. At 18:00 everyone arrives, except Eric who has work late and Nico and Said who remain to watch over the ANTSIVA. During the evening, the weather conditions deteriorate, it becomes hazardous to return to the edge of the night and everyone is invited to sleep on the ground. The soldiers make available pico beds in the shelter that creates a large dormitory where everyone can enjoy the snoring of others ...
A little night for some, deep sleep for others.

Wednesday October 7th - Day 11 of work

5:30 am, the whole team is already on the beach, in a hurry to re-embark on board. Only Clement (TAAF) remained at the camp because he planned to accompany the gendarme on his tour of locating turtle nesting tracks.
In the early afternoon, the Turtle team is again facing a Tiger shark and this time it is an imposing individual of 4 meters long. Each boat is warned by VHF and is asked to stop any towing activity. The Manta-Tow is definitely out of date! This is the solution to assess the abundance of sea cucumbers, but a safety problem arises especially when visibility is reduced.

Thursday, October 8 - Day 12 of work

Today, the team "Turtle" will recover his 9th GoPro. The camera took the water but the recorded data are usable. A total of 35 hours of images were recorded and the first screenings promise excellent results.

Friday, October 9 - Day 13 of work

Last day on Glorious. The weather conditions improved a little and Thierry and Alex took the opportunity to do a diving exploration with Clément and Marine.
A total of 24 km of Manta Tow were carried out to evaluate the abundance of commercial sea cucumbers in the Glorieuses, an area of 120 000 m2 and only 223 sea cucumbers could be identified.
For its part, the team Tortue leaves with two boats in search of 3 Gopros still missing. Despite a diligent search they come back empty handed. Of all the turtles equipped, only 2 of them, nicknamed Beirout and Panamag have not been reviewed by the team. The zone presence of tiger sharks and the rather fearful behavior of turtles on Glorious suggest a tragic end for these two.
After lunch, storage operation for departure. The Turtle team drops off its boat at the camp, which will leave for Reunion Island in a next rotation.
16:30, everything is rigged and the two annexes are brought back on board. The ANTSIVA can pair. It is in an uncomfortable swell and with a wind too weak to inflate sufficiently the sails that we head for Mayotte.

Saturday 10th of October

Most of the navigation to Mayotte is by engine and we only have a few good hours to hoist the sails.
Ti photos, viewing videos, work on data collected, reading, rest or card games, everyone organizes his day at his convenience but all are around the square when the bell rings the call of meals ...
This concludes Panamag 1, the first component of knowledge acquisition for sustainable management of the Glorieuses Marine Park. A big thank you to everyone for this new mission.

Aenean nunc efficitur. at Donec facilisis

La biodiversité du parc marin des Glorieuses

Tortue verte mission PANAMAG parc marin des Glorieuses

Lieu : Gorieuses

Réalisée en 2015

Mission : PANAMAG1

Chef de mission : Katia BALLORAIN

Cette nouvelle mission PANAMAG 1 s’inscrit dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du plan de gestion du Parc naturel marin des Glorieuses et va s’articuler autour de 4 volets. Aussi, embarquons-nous à bord de l’Antsiva, un nouveau groupe de scientifiques composé de 4 équipes ayant chacune des objectifs bien précis à réaliser.
L’équipe « Tortues » composé de Mayeul, Claire et Katia l’équipe Herbier avec Marine et Katia, l’équipe Qualité de l’eau avec Eric et Clément et enfin l’équipe Holoturies composée de Thierry et Alexandra.

Une fois le matériel embarqué et les scientifiques installés, l’ANTSIVA lève l’ancre. Au sortir de la passe Bandrélé nous rencontrons des conditions de navigations de demoiselle, mais il ne faut pas trainer car un front apportant des vents forts en provenance des Glorieuses s’annonce dans les prochaines heures.

Samedi 26 Septembre

15h30n nous arrivons aux Glorieuses et mouillons en face du débarcadère. Nous mettons aussitôt les deux annexes à l’eau et Katia, Clément et Nicolas descendent à terre pour une première prise de contact avec le gendarme et deux légionnaires
Marine, la responsable plongée en profite pour nous faire un petit rappel sur le fonctionnement des bouteilles d’oxygène ainsi que sur le déroulement des plongées.
Puis, un briefing général s’organise en début de soirée. L’embarcation de Kelonia n’arrivera que dans une semaine, ce qui perturbe un peu le programme. De ce fait, les 4 équipes vont devoir jongler avec les deux annexes d’Antsiva. Les négociations s’engagent le soir à l’apéro, mais la Caïpirina aidant, des solutions sont facilement trouvées.

Dimanche 27 septembre – Jour 1 de travail

25 nœuds de vent avec une mer formée. Même au mouillage le bateau danse doucement devant le débarcadère. Les conditions de travail ne sont pas des plus faciles mais les scientifiques sont à pied d’œuvre dès la première heure.
L’équipe « Holoturies » composée de Thierry et Alexandra est d’abord déposée à terre et va réaliser deux stations sur le platier. La pêche illicite aux concombres de mer étant très fréquente sur la zone, le premier objectif est d’estimer l’abondance des espèces commerciales.
Puis l’annexe orange part avec deux autres équipes : « Herbiers et Qualité de l’Eau »
L’équipe Herbier, composée de Marine et Katia, doit avant tout réaliser l’inventaire et la cartographie des herbiers et définir des stations de suivis, cela passe par des observations vérité terrain en plongée ou en transects tractés.
L’équipe Qualité de l’eau », composée de Clément et Eric va établir un état des lieux de la qualité générale des eaux et sédiments.
Pendant que Marine réalise des points de vérités terrain sur les herbiers, Eric et Clément s’occupent du déploiement en plongée de 3 sondes qui vont suivre de façon très fine la T°, le Conductivité et le niveau d’eau : 2 sondes Température/pression sont déployées et une autre sonde multi paramètres à haute fréquence est mouillée sur un 3ème site.
L’après-midi, l’équipe Qualité de l’Eau reste à bord et collecte des sédiments depuis le mouillage de l’ANTSIVA. Pour ce faire une poulie de renvoi est frappée au portique et le câble de manutention de la benne est ramené sur un des winchs de génois. Après quelques mises au point la benne remontée est pleine de sable d’Alimeda d’une grande finesse. (Enseignement N°1 plus l’échantillon de sédiment est fin plus il pue). Après le sédiment il faut collecter un échantillon d’eau. Une niskin de 5L est mis en œuvre pour permettre l’échantillonnage pour les différentes analyses. En parallèle une sonde multiparamètres est utilisée pour les caractéristiques générales (T°, Conductivité, Salinité, Oxygène dissous, pH).
L’équipe Tortues composée de Mayeul, Claire et Katia doit quant à elle améliorer les connaissances sur les tortues vertes immatures et en particulier leur comportement alimentaire. Pour cela, des caméras GOPRO seront fixées sur la carapace de 10 tortues et enregistreront tous leurs mouvements pendant 4 heures.
L’équipe rentre juste avant la tombée de la nuit, un peu dépitée. Les conditions défavorables de marées ainsi que les eaux brassée par le vent n’ont pas facilité leur travail : ils n’ont pu capturer qu’une seule tortue et celle-ci surnommée « Lilliput » était trop petite pour pouvoir être équipée d’une balise et d’une caméra GoPro.

Lundi 28 Septembre – Jour 2 de travail

Les conditions météo restent sensiblement les mêmes mais la motivation de tous est intacte. Aussi, dès le lever du soleil les deux annexes sont déjà sur l’eau.
Pour la vérité terrain, l’équipe « herbier » met en œuvre deux techniques d’observation, une caméra immergée à un mètre au-dessus du fond qui va collecter les données en profondeur et le « Manta-Tow ». Cette dernière technique consiste à s’équiper en PMT et à réaliser des transects en se faisant tracter, ce qui permet de couvrir des surfaces beaucoup plus importantes.
Puis, vers 8 heures du matin, les deux équipes « Holothuries et Herbiers » sont déposées à terre où le gendarme les attend avec le tracteur pour les transporter avec leur matériel à l’est de l’île. Pendant que Thierry et Alexandra réalisent deux stations holothuries sur le platier, Eric et Clément y prélèvent de l’eau et des sédiments.
Aujourd’hui, l’équipe « Tortue » reprend espoir. Trois tortues sont capturées : Black, First et Thalassia. Ces deux dernières sont équipées d’une caméra Gopro et d’une balise et sont relâchées le jour même.
Parallèlement à la capture de tortues, plusieurs transects Herbiers sont réalisés au cours de la journée.

Mardi 29 – Jour 3 de travail

Ce matin, une baleine à bosse est aperçue depuis le mouillage pour le plus grand plaisir de tous.
Les acquisitions se poursuivent malgré les conditions météo difficiles. Une légère accalmie s’annonce dans la matinée que nous mettons immédiatement à profit pour organiser les premières plongées avec l’équipe « Holoturies ». Celle-ci travaille en déployant pour chaque station 3 grands transects de 100m de long sur 5m de large, couvrant ainsi une surface de 3000 m2 à chaque plongée. Il n’y a pas de densité importante, du coup ils vont devoir multiplier les stations afin d’obtenir des résultats exploitables.
L’équipe « Tortue » avance à petits pas avec une seule capture, Mushroom qui sera aussitôt équipée de son pack « Go Pro + balise »
Tous les soirs, Jérôme Bourjea resté à terre chez Ifremer suit les tortues par satellite et donne leurs positions afin de faciliter leur recapture et par conséquent de récupérer les Gopro.
Jérôme est l’initiateur de cette nouvelle formule de collecte de données, il a pu la tester en mars 2015 sur Juan de Nova en compagnie de Stéphane Ciccione (de Kelonia). Tous les soirs, il encourage par mail l’équipe Tortue.

Mercredi 30 Septembre – Jour 4 de travail

La baleine et son baleineau se rapprochent de l’ANTSIVA et évoluent dans les eaux peu profondes du platier. Nous avons la chance de les suivre dans un rayon de 500m du bateau pendant toute la matinée.
Aujourd’hui, l’équipe « Tortue » a le sourire : 6 captures et 6 Go Pro installées et déployées le jour même. Ce qui porte à 9 le nombre de tortues équipées. Leur objectif de 10 semble désormais réalisable.

Jeudi 1 Octobre – Jour 5 de travail

Les acquisitions se poursuivent malgré les conditions météo toujours difficiles.
L’équipe « Holoturies », en complément des observations de plongée adopte la technique du « manta tow ». Thierry et Alexandra n’étaient pas certains de pouvoir faire du Manta Tow sur les holothuries en raison du manque de visibilité, mais cette technique s’avère finalement très efficace et nécessite moins de moyen en comparaison des plongées. Il faut tout de même une embarcation, un pilote, une personne en charge de noter les observations et les transects et un observateur dans l’eau. Mais, grâce à cette méthode, des surfaces beaucoup plus importantes que celles prévues vont pouvoir être explorées.
Le team « Tortue » surfe toujours sur une vague positive, les difficultés des premiers jours sont oubliées. Avec Panamag, la 10ème tortue équipée, l’objectif est atteint : toutes les Go pro sont déployées, il s’agit désormais de les re-capturer.
Et justement, avec la recapture de la tortue surnommée « Bourrique », ils récupèrent leur première Gopro et donc leurs premières données filmées. Bourrique est aussitôt rééquipée et redéployée.

Vendredi 2 octobre – Jour 6 de travail

Après le départ de l’équipe Tortues sur la zone de capture, Antsiva quitte son mouillage pour un déplacement dans le lagon afin d’effectuer des collectes de sédiments et d’échantillons d’eau.
Deux diagonales sont échantillonnées avec un taux de réussite variable pour la benne à sédiments. En effet, lorsque la benne tombe sur un fond mixte détritique/sable, des blocs, (même petits) de récif mort ou de cailloux, viennent bloquer la fermeture de la benne, et tout le sédiment collecté se perd lors de la remontée. La solution serait d’effectuer une plongée de suivi de benne lors de la descente pour assurer la bonne fermeture de cette dernière, mais les impératifs liés aux tables de plongées professionnelles étant très pénalisantes, aucun plongeur n’a l’autorisation de se mettre à l’eau pour assurer le succès du bennage à coup sûr (Enseignement N°2, il faudrait des tables de plongées prof plus adaptées au travail des scientifiques). Malgré tout, la prise de donnée se poursuit et l’équipe Qualité de l’eau reste très positive sur le succès de ses objectifs.
Pendant ce temps, les deux équipes Holoturies et Herbiers ont pu réaliser à partir de l’annexe orange des transects tractés, une station plongée et des vérités terrain sur les herbiers.
A 17 heures, Antsiva rentre au mouillage pour retrouver Claire et Mayeul.
Le bulletin Météo du soir prévoit une météo au beau fixe pour les 3 jours à venir avec des conditions exceptionnelles les deux premiers jours. Nous programmons donc pour le lendemain un déplacement sur l’île du Lys avec les trois équipes Herbiers, Holoturies et Qualité de l’Eau.

Samedi 3 octobre – Jour 7 de travail

L’arrivée du bateau militaire « La Grandière » est prévue dans la matinée. Mayeul et Claire débarquent à terre car ils vont rester pour réceptionner l’embarcation de Kélonia. Ils vont demeurer 2 jours sur Grande Glorieuse, partageant ainsi la vie du camp et participant aux manœuvres de déchargement de la Grandière.
Vers 8 heures, Antsiva arrive au mouillage de l’îlot du Lys. Deux catamarans de voyage, aperçus la veille sont également présents. Le gendarme profite de la présence de la Grandière pour embarquer à bord d’un zodiac et prendre contact avec les deux voiliers. Ceux-ci sont priés de quitter la zone dès le lendemain matin.
Les deux équipes Herbiers et Holoturies vont réaliser des transects tractés tout autour de l’îlot du Lys ainsi que deux stations en plongée bouteille.
L’équipe Qualité de l’Eau prélève des échantillons d’eau et de sédiments et pose un échantillonneur DGT pour étudier la contamination chimique.
Clément (TAAF) a prévu quant à lui, toute une journée de travail sur l’îlot du lys. Nous le déposons donc à terre où il va poser une trentaine de pièges à rongeurs, délimiter les colonies d’oiseaux, en particulier les nodis bruns et les sternes et faire un état des lieux sur les camps de pêcheurs illicites.

Dimanche 4 octobre – Jour 8 de travail

Deuxième jour sur l’île du Lys. Les scientifiques profitent de cette belle fenêtre météo pour étendre leurs observations en plongée et en transects tractés.
Une station est réalisée sur le trou bleu, également appelé « la piscine ». Les observations effectuées lors des missions précédentes sont confirmées : on note l’abondance d’une espèce d’holothurie. L’équipe Herbiers réalise des radiales à vue couvrant ainsi 44 km de vérité terrain à partir de l’annexe orange. Lors de leur manip, ils croisent également une baleine et son baleineau ainsi qu’un groupe de dauphins à long bec.
L’après-midi, Antsiva se déplace pour permettre à l’équipe Qualité de l’eau d’atteindre de nouvelles stations à l’ouest et au nord qui sont plus exposées à la grande houle d’Est. Seuls les échantillonnages d’eau sont réalisés, les prélèvements de sédiments s’avèrent impossibles à réaliser en raison de la présence trop importante de roches et d’herbiers.
Le soir, nous prenons des nouvelles de Claire et Mayeul toujours sur Grande Glorieuse. Ils ont récupéré leur embarcation et se sont aussitôt remis au travail. Avec la recapture des tortues Shark et Panamag, deux nouvelles Gopro ont pu être récupérées. Shark a aussitôt été rééquipée d’une Gopro.

Lundi 5 octobre – Jour 9 de travail

Ce matin le vent souffle de nouveau et la nuit a été particulièrement mouvementée. Clément récupère les pièges à rongeurs sur l’îlot et nous quittons le mouillage pour rejoindre Grande Glorieuse. La houle est montée et l’embarcation prévue pour l’observation des herbiers nous rejoint. Des vagues de près de 3 mètres sur le point de déferler les ont convaincus à rebrousser chemin. Du coup l’exploration s’organise autour du mouillage du débarcadère.
Allers et venues d’embarcations sur l’ANTSIVA, plongée, manta-tow, bennage et tri des sédiments. Chacun revient satisfait des données collectées.
Pour l’équipe Tortue, le moral est au beau fixe car une nouvelle GoPRo a pu être récupérée.
Un gros requin est observé dans une eau trouble, Mayeul pense à un requin tigre sans pouvoir l’affirmer.

Mardi 6 octobre – Jour 10 de travail

Ce matin, l’équipe « Holoturies » profite de conditions météo favorables et d’un petit coefficient de marée pour se rendre sur « les Roches Vertes » et sur la station « Glo – 3 » située sur la pente externe, à l’Est du récif. La station « Roches vertes » est riche en grande étoile de mer bleue/beige (Linckia laevigata) et Glo 3 reste une station de référence sur la côté Est pour les suivis GCRMN, mais relativement pauvre en abondance d’holothuries. Eric et Clément se joignent à la rotation pour effectuer une collecte de sédiments sur l’Est avec la petite benne.
Pour l’équipe tortue c’est l’euphorie : l’objectif est désormais atteint avec la recapture de 3 nouvelles Go PRO.
Aujourd’hui nouvelle observation de requin, il s’agit bien d’un Tigre, un jeune d’environ 2.50m que Katia a réussi à filmer depuis l’annexe. Désormais, les observations en Manta-Tow se font avec moins de sérénité.
Ce soir une soirée Barbecue est organisée par les militaires. A 18h00 tout le monde débarque, sauf Eric qui a du travail en retard et Nico et Saïd qui restent pour veiller sur l’ANTSIVA. Pendant la soirée, les conditions météo se détériorent, il devient hasardeux de regagner le bord de nuit et tout le monde est invité à dormir à terre. Les militaires mettent à disposition des lits pico dans l’abri anticyclonique qui forme un grand dortoir où chacun peut profiter du ronflement des autres…
Petite nuit pour les uns, sommeil profond pour les autres.

Mercredi 7 octobre – Jour 11 de travail

5h30 du matin, toute l’équipe est déjà sur la plage, pressée de réembarquer à bord. Seul Clément (TAAF) est resté au camp car il a prévu d’accompagner le gendarme dans sa tournée de repérage des traces de ponte de tortues.
En début d’après-midi, l’équipe Tortue se retrouve de nouveau face à un requin Tigre et cette fois ci il s’agit d’un individu imposant de 4 mètres de long. Chaque embarcation est prévenue par VHF et est priée de stopper toute activité de tractage. Décidément le Manta-Tow n’a plus la cote ! C’est pourtant la solution pour évaluer les abondances des holothuries, mais un problème de sécurité se pose notamment lorsque la visibilité est réduite.

Jeudi 8 octobre – Jour 12 de travail

Aujourd’hui, l’équipe « Tortue » va récupérer sa 9ème GoPro. La caméra a pris l’eau mais les données enregistrées sont exploitables. Au total 35 heures d’images ont été enregistrées et les premiers visionnages promettent d’excellents résultats.

Vendredi 9 octobre – Jour 13 de travail

Dernier jour sur Glorieuses. Les conditions météo se sont un peu améliorées et Thierry et Alex en profitent pour faire une exploration plongée en compagnie de Clément et Marine.
Au total, 24 km de Manta Tow ont été effectués pour évaluer les abondances des holothuries commerciales aux Glorieuses, soit une surface de 120 000 m2 et seulement 223 holothuries ont pu être recensées.
De son côté, l’équipe Tortue part avec deux embarcations à la recherche des 3 Gopros encore manquantes. Malgré une recherche assidue ils reviennent bredouilles. Parmi toutes les tortues équipées, seules 2 d’entre elles, surnommés Beirout et Panamag n’auront pas été revues par l’équipe. La présence sur zone des requins tigre et le comportement plutôt craintif des tortues sur Glorieuses laissent à penser à une fin tragique pour ces deux-là.
Après le déjeuner, opération rangement en vue du départ. L’équipe Tortue dépose son embarcation au camp, celle-ci repartira à la Réunion lors d’une prochaine rotation.
16h30, tout est calé et les deux annexes sont remontées à bord. L’ANTSIVA peut appareiller. C’est dans une houle inconfortable et avec un vent trop faible pour gonfler suffisamment les voiles que nous mettons le cap sur Mayotte.

Samedi 10 Octobre

La navigation jusqu’à Mayotte s’effectue en grande partie au moteur et nous ne bénéficions que de quelques heures favorables pour hisser les voiles.
Ti des photos, visionnage des vidéos, travail sur les données collectées, lecture, repos ou encore parties de cartes, chacun organise sa journée à sa convenance mais tous se retrouvent autour du carré lorsque la cloche sonne l’appel des repas…
Ainsi s’achève Panamag 1, premier volet d’acquisition de connaissances pour une gestion durable du parc marin des Glorieuses. Un grand merci à tous pour cette nouvelle mission.

venenatis, Aenean mi, facilisis sit et, venenatis pulvinar libero tempus dictum Lorem