Thierry Mulocheau

Thierry MULOCHAU

Position: Marine biologist - Co-director Aquarium of Reunion

After two Ifremer missions in 1996 and 1997 on the Geyser Bank, we come back in our footsteps on a fabulous boat, worthy of the "Big" oceanographic missions ...! What a path traveled by the four fishmongers of the mission, at the time young sea wolves and ready to do battle again with the hundreds of species of coral fish present in the area. We cross the Mayotte pass and the serenity quickly settled on board.
Nearly 100 hours of diving resulted in a significant decline in the abundance of schools of fish, especially commercial species. These large coral reefs remote from anthropogenic influences are threatened by various fishing activities. At the 10-year scale, we have seen the importance of this damage. The team also inventoried molluscs and echinoderms.
We leave with always the desire to come back and also with the feeling that nothing will ever be like before ... Take well Nicolas, all your family and your crew, and thank you for your welcome on board. Long road to Antsiva.
RDV taken for in 10 years.

Mission lived with Antsiva

eget in amet, suscipit vel, risus adipiscing

Thierry Mulocheau

Thierry MULOCHAU

Poste : Biologiste marin – Co-directeur Aquarium de La Réunion

Après deux missions Ifremer en 1996 et 1997 sur le banc du Geyser, nous revenons sur nos traces sur un bateau fabuleux, digne des « Grandes » missions océanographiques… ! Quel chemin parcouru par les 4 poissonniers de la mission, à l’époque jeunes loups des mers et prêts à en découdre une nouvelle fois avec les centaines d’espèces de poissons coralliens présents dans la zone. Nous franchissons la passe de Mayotte et la sérénité s’est très vite installée à bord.
Près de 100 heures de plongée, nous ont permis de constater une baisse importante de l’abondance des bancs de poissons, notamment des espèces commerciales. Ces grands bancs coralliens éloignés des influences anthropiques sont menacés par les diverses activités de pêche. A l’échelle de 10 ans, nous avons pu constater l’importance de ces dommages. Toute l’équipe a également inventorié les mollusques et les échinodermes.
Nous repartons avec toujours l’envie de revenir et aussi avec le sentiment que rien ne sera plus jamais comme avant… Porte toi bien Nicolas, toute ta famille et ton équipage, et merci de ton accueil à bord. Longue route à Antsiva.
RDV pris pour dans 10 ans.

Mission vécues avec Antsiva

amet, elementum nec fringilla sit felis