The Geyser Reef, 10 years later.

JB Nicet

Location: Geyser Bank

Conducted in 2006

Expedition Leader : Jean-Pascal QUOD - ARVAM

After discovering the Geyser in 1999 for a study on coral bleaching and then in 2003 on the way to the Glorieuses, returning there this year aboard ANTSIVA is a renewed pleasure because this place is still magical by its diversity of landscapes.
Underwater and on board, with a team that shares common values on the reasoned protection of the marine environment, we were able to measure at the end of a week of re-visiting sites how much Geyser has spent this last decade and make plans for the future around THB. All this in a tip top atmosphere. Many thanks to Nicolas, Lou and the crew for taking care of our comfort and for following us on this adventure. Thank you also to the DAF of Mayotte for its support. Veloma.

The tropical depression ANITA that has just moved south of Mayotte leaves behind a beautiful calm weather, essential condition to carry out this mission. Its purpose is to draw up an inventory ten years after a zero point. A group of 9 scientists, all professional divers are gathered aboard ANTSIVA to carry out this mission.

Day 1

Arrived at the Geyser at 12:00. Briefing during lunch and the team is preparing for their first dive. The weather conditions are at the top: the water is crystalline, the air temperature is 35 °, that of water 31 °. What more?
An hour later, the divers come back loaded with study material: shellfish to measure, classify and index, a brand new tiger shark tooth, etc ... the harvest is not so bad. There is also all the collected data that is at the heart of the mission.
During the animated debriefing during which everyone brings his observations the compressor tirelessly inflates the first 9 bottles. During the many handling of loading and unloading of the diving equipment, the derrick will facilitate us. Indeed, the bottles are handled 4 by 4 and go directly from the annex to the inflation zone located in the middle of the bridge. A first evening of tranquility reigns over Antsiva. The wind has fallen

Day 2

The entire team has made its mark on board and takes full advantage of the space. Three zones are occupied. On the bridge, a first group works behind this huge 48-square-meter awning, while inside the saloon table and the living room table are invaded by computers.
With regard to the weather conditions, the team can organize two dives a day.
Scientists will focus efforts on the western tip of the reef. The area is rich in fish and they will meet among other things, a big tuna tooth dog immobile, all busy getting a toilet by small fish cleaners, and a nurse shark 3 m nonchalantly moving on the shoals from the platier.

Day 3

In the early morning the wind got stronger with a tendency to pass north / northwest, trend confirmed by the weather Charlie Tango on 6216 at 7:15 local time.
We therefore opt for an anchorage further north. Here, the reef forms a cove in which we must proceed with caution, but we will be sheltered from the winds of the north on 100 °. In addition, the landscape is superb and the nearby white sand island reflects a magnificent light.
From there, we will be able to shine on 4 sites of analysis. At work the fishmongers!

Day 4

This is the petole and we take the opportunity to visit the two sites of the extreme east tip of the geyser which are the fall and the herbarium respectively.
We fish many captains on the latter then, we chained two dives before lunch. Mission accomplished. We drink copiously the lunch and it reaches a sweet drowsiness that we return to anchor to the north west side inside. The dinner well watered also and the punch really strong of the captain do not take long to make their effects. It's a well-deserved rest for the whole team!

Day 5

The weather is mild, life is soft on the Geyser. Even if the swell is present on this side of the reef, the least we can say is that the sea does not rush us. The team of scientists takes the opportunity to pay the two remaining points on the zone. With the weekend and these favorable weather conditions, the M'zoungous arrive en masse on the reef, a submarine hunter boat come to anchor 100 meters from the boat. Human nature is really gregarious ...

Day 6

Early, we move on the south wall. The whole team is excited about this idea. We put the pick on the reef and let the boat skid downwind, placing the stern just above the drop.
All depart and return delighted with their expedition. Today the photo harvests are good.
The clouds looming on the horizon are not sporadic grains. However the weather is still beautiful and some take the opportunity to visit the reef high by being hoisted to the top of the mast. The evening falls and the weather changes. As a precaution, put the awning down for the night hoping that the wind will not turn sharply, placing us on the reef.

Day 7

This morning the weather is cloudy and the black bar looming in the east does not announce anything good. Charlie Tango announces rain over an area stretching from northern Madagascar to the Comoros. So we are not waiting for any improvement, but we are weighing anchor and heading for the front. Very quickly the wind rises to 40 knots and the sea rises. In these conditions we abandon the study of point 10 and decide to return to Mayotte. In the late morning, the weather improves and it is the engine that we approach Mayotte

commodo nec neque. risus luctus ipsum Sed

Le récif du Geyser, 10 ans après.

JB Nicet

Lieu : Banc du Geyser

Réalisée en 2006

Chef de mission : Jean-Pascal QUOD - ARVAM

Après avoir découvert le Geyser en 1999 pour une étude sur le blanchissement des coraux puis en 2003 en route pour les Glorieuses, y revenir cette année à bord d’ANTSIVA est un plaisir renouvelé car ce lieu reste encore magique par sa diversité de paysages.
Sous l’eau et a bord, avec une équipe qui partage des valeurs communes sur la protection raisonnée de l’environnement marin, nous avons pu mesurer au terme d’une semaine de re-visite des sites combien le Geyser a passer cette dernière décennie et faire autour des THB des plans sur l’avenir. Tout cela dans une ambiance à bord tip top. Grand merci a Nicolas, Lou et l’équipage pour avoir pris soin de notre confort et de nous avoir suivi dans cette aventure. Merci aussi a la DAF de Mayotte pour son soutien. Veloma.

La dépression tropicale ANITA qui vient tout juste de se déplacer au sud de Mayotte laisse derrière elle un beau temps calme, condition indispensable pour mener à bien cette mission. Son but est de dresser un état des lieux dix ans après un point zéro. Un groupe de 9 scientifiques, tous plongeurs professionnels sont réunis à bord d’ANTSIVA pour mener à bien cette mission.

Jour 1

Arrivé au Geyser à 12h00. Briefing pendant le déjeuner et l’équipe se prépare pour sa première plongée. Les conditions météo sont au top : l’eau est cristalline, la température de l’air est de 35°, celle de l’eau 31°. Que demander de plus?
Quelques heure après, les plongeurs reviennent les bras chargés de matériel d’étude : des coquillage à mesurer, à classer et à répertorier, une dent de requin tigre toute neuve, etc… la récolte n’est pas si mauvaise. Il y a aussi toutes les données collectées qui sont au cœur de la mission.
Pendant le débriefing animé au cours duquel chacun apporte ses observations le compresseur gonfle inlassablement les 9 premières bouteilles. Lors des nombreuses manipulations d’embarquement et de débarquement du matériel de plongée, le mât de charge va nous faciliter les choses. En effet, les bouteilles se manipulent 4 par 4 et passent directement de l’annexe à la zone de gonflage située au milieu du pont. Une première soirée de quiétude règne sur Antsiva. Le vent est tombé

Jour 2

Toute l’équipe à pris ses marques à bord et profite de l’espace au maximum. Trois zones sont occupée. Sur le pont, un premier groupe travaille à l’abri de cet immense taud de 48 mètres carrés, tandis qu’à l’intérieur la table du carré et celle du salon sont envahies par les ordinateurs.
Au regard des conditions météo, l’équipe peut organiser deux plongées par jour.
Les scientifiques vont concentrer les efforts sur la pointe Ouest du récif. La zone est riche en poisson et ils vont y rencontrer entre autre, un gros thon dent de chien immobile, tout occupé à se faire faire une toilette par de petits poissons nettoyeurs, et un requin nourrice de 3 m se déplaçant nonchalamment sur les hauts fonds du platier.

Jour 3

Au petit matin le vent à forci avec une tendance à passer nord /nord-ouest, tendance confirmée par la météo de Charlie Tango sur 6216 à 7h15 heure locale.
Nous optons donc pour un mouillage plus au nord. Ici, le récif forme une anse dans laquelle il faut avancer avec prudence, mais nous y serons abrités des vents du nord sur 100°. De plus, le paysage est superbe et l’îlot de sable blanc tout proche réfléchit une lumière magnifique.
A partir de là, nous pourrons rayonner sur 4 sites d’analyse. Au boulot les poissonniers !

Jour 4

C’est la pétole et nous en profitons pour nous rendre sur les deux sites de l’extrême pointe est du geyser qui sont respectivement le tombant et l’herbier.
Nous péchons de nombreux capitaines sur ce dernier puis, nous enchaînons deux plongées avant le déjeuner. Mission accomplie. Nous arrosons copieusement le déjeuner et c’est atteint d’une douce somnolence que nous revenons jeter l’ancre au nord ouest coté intérieur. Le dîner bien arrosé également et le punch vraiment corsé du capitaine ne tardent pas à faire leurs effets. C’est un repos bien mérité pour toute l’équipe !

Jour 5

Le temps est clément, la vie est douce sur le Geyser. Même si la houle est présente de ce coté du récif, le moins que l’on puisse dire c’est que la mer ne nous brusque pas. L’équipe de scientifiques en profite pour s’acquitter des deux deniers points restants sur zone. Avec le week-end et ces conditions météo favorables, les M’zoungous arrivent en masse sur le récif, une barque de chasseur sous-marins viennent mouiller à 100 mètres du bateau. La nature humaine est vraiment grégaire…

Jour 6

De bonne heure, nous nous déplaçons sur le tombant sud. Toute l’équipe est bien excitée à cette idée. Nous posons la pioche sur le récif et nous laissons le bateau déraper sous le vent, plaçant ainsi la poupe juste au-dessus du tombant.
Tous partent et rentrent ravis de leur expédition. Aujourd’hui les moissons de photo sont bonnes.
Les nuages qui se profilent à l’horizon n’ont rien de grains sporadiques. Cependant le temps est encore au beau et certains en profitent pour visiter le récif de haut en se faisant hisser en tête du mât. Le soir tombe et le temps change. Par mesure de prudence on affale le taud pour la nuit en espérant que le vent ne tourne pas brusquement, nous plaçant ainsi sur le récif.

Jour 7

Ce matin le temps est couvert et la barre noire se profilant à l’est n’annonce rien de bon. Charlie Tango annonce de la pluie sur une zone s’étendant du Nord de Madagascar aux Comores. Nous n’attendons donc aucune amélioration, Cependant nous levons l’ancre et nous nous dirigeons à l’avant du front. Très vite le vent monte jusqu’à 40 nœuds et la mer se lève. Dans ces conditions nous abandonnons l’étude du point 10 et décidons de rentrer sur Mayotte. En fin de matinée, le temps s’améliore et c’est au moteur que nous abordons Mayotte

luctus libero velit, leo. Nullam lectus dolor quis, leo consectetur porta. dictum