Robin ROLLAND

Robin ROLLAND

Position: Director Daf de Mayotte - 2006

Ornithological observations

21 bird species could be observed during our journey. Five of them were only found on the high seas: the Black-bellied and White-bellied Oceans (astonishing small pelagic birds), the Tern Terns, a stealthy and distant Puffin, unidentified, and an adult of Cape-crested Albatrosses. white, very north of its usual distribution.
On Europa, the avifauna, although not very diversified (16 species noted during our stay, some of them for the first time, it seems, with reference to the literature) is however exceptional by its abundance and the nature of the behaviors observed. Most notable are the seabirds with some of the most important colonies in the Indian Ocean. The sooty Tern, omnipresent with its hundreds of thousands of individuals, creates the sound atmosphere, especially nocturnal, in Europa! Often in pairs on the high seas, they gather in impressive colonies in the south of the island to nest on the ground on low grasslands. This year, at the end of May, the terns begin to confine themselves to their future breeding sites and the aggressive and collective behaviors towards all intruders develop! The Red-footed Boobies (several thousand), remarkable for their livery is brown (majority here) or white, complete their breeding phase and all the young are now flying while the songs of the Pacific Frigates and ariel, pirates of the seas and large consumers of small marine turtles, may announce an upcoming mating phase. Prospecting relentlessly throughout the territory, they do not hesitate to really harass the crazy back fishing that end up regurgitating their prey!
Europa is also home to a large population of Phaethons, or Pailles-Tails, of two different species, both piscivorous: the red-haired Phaeton, the most robust, and the Petit Phaeton, represented here by individuals of a more modest average size. and rectrices (tail feathers) median yellow (and not white as their counterparts of other islands). The noisy Caspian Tern, with its powerful red beak, has always been seen on the beaches. The dimorphic Egret (with its 3 phases: white, slate or gray!) Animates the flats at low tide, in search of all life in puddles, associated with a procession of waders, long-distance migrants (to Siberia !): Ruddy Turnstones that begin to display their breeding plumage, Curlew with the typical arched beak and rare Leschenault Plovers still in winter livery. Note the amazing sight of a flamingo fluttering over the mangrove on May 26!
Finally, on the land side, it is necessary to emphasize the presence of a small passerine, the Zosterops or "bird-glasses", endemic of the island, abundant and present in all the mediums (grassy areas, bushes, afforestation with Euphorbia and even mangroves ), the Common Crow, an opportunistic scavenger, and the Barn Owl whose black rat is probably the favorite prey.
A whole world in short, but with a fragile balance that must be preserved absolutely!

Mission lived with Antsiva

efficitur. risus justo quis sit leo lectus diam commodo vulputate, dictum

Robin ROLLAND

Robin ROLLAND

Poste : Directeur Daf de Mayotte – 2006

Observations ornithologiques

21 espèces d’oiseaux ont pu être observées au cours de notre périple. Cinq d’entre elles ont été repérées uniquement en haute mer : les Océanites à ventre noir et à ventre blanc (étonnants petits oiseaux pélagiques), la Sterne bridée, un furtif et lointain Puffin, non identifié, et un adulte d’Albatros à cape blanche, très au nord de sa distribution habituelle.
Sur Europa, l’avifaune, bien que peu diversifiée (16 espèces notées lors de notre séjour dont quelques-unes pour la première fois semble-t-il, en référence à la littérature) est cependant exceptionnelle par son abondance et la nature des comportements observés. Les plus remarquables sont assurément les oiseaux marins avec des colonies parmi les plus importantes de l’océan Indien. La Sterne fuligineuse, omniprésente avec ses centaines de milliers d’individus, crée l’ambiance sonore, notamment nocturne, à Europa ! Souvent par couples en haute mer, elles se rassemblent en impressionnantes colonies dans le sud de l’île pour nicher au sol sur les formations herbeuses basses. Cette année, fin mai, les sternes commencent à se cantonner sur leurs futurs sites de reproduction et les comportements agressifs et collectifs vis à vis de tout intrus se développent ! Les Fous à pieds rouges (plusieurs milliers), remarquables par leur livrée soit brune (majoritaire ici) soit blanche, terminent leur phase de reproduction et tous les jeunes sont maintenant volants tandis que les chants des Frégates du Pacifique et ariel, pirates des mers et grandes consommatrices de petites tortues marines, annoncent peut-être une prochaine phase d’accouplement. Prospectant sans relâche l’ensemble du territoire, elles n‘hésitent pas à harceler véritablement les fous de retour de pêche qui finissent alors par régurgiter leurs proies !
Europa abrite également une population importante de Phaétons ou Pailles-en-queue, de 2 espèces différentes, toutes deux piscivores : le Phaéton à brins rouges, le plus robuste, et le Petit phaéton représenté ici par des individus d’une taille moyenne plus modeste et aux rectrices (plumes de la queue) médianes jaunes (et non blanches comme leurs homologues des autres îles). La bruyante Sterne caspienne, au puissant bec rouge, a toujours été vue sur les plages. L’Aigrette dimorphe (avec ses 3 phases : blanche, ardoisée ou grise !) anime les platiers à marée basse, en quête de toute vie dans les flaques, associée à un cortège d’échassiers, migrateurs au long cours (jusqu’en Sibérie !) : Tournepierres à collier qui commencent à arborer leur plumage nuptial, Courlis corlieux au bec arqué typique et rares Pluviers de Leschenault encore en livrée hivernale. A noter l’observation étonnante d’un Flamand rose en vol au-dessus de la mangrove le 26 mai !
Enfin, côté terrestre, il faut souligner la présence d’un petit passereau, le Zosterops ou « oiseau-lunette », endémique de l’île, abondant et présent dans tous les milieux (zones herbeuses, buissons, boisements à Euphorbes et même mangroves), du Corbeau-pie, charognard opportuniste, et de la Chouette effraie dont le rat noir constitue probablement la proie favorite.
Tout un monde en somme, mais à l’équilibre fragile qu’il convient de préserver absolument !

Mission vécues avec Antsiva

consequat. elementum vulputate, dapibus massa venenatis ut leo. vel, ut tristique