Reef inventory and mapping in Europa

Diver in full scientific missions

Location: Europa

Conducted in 2011

Mission: BioReCie 1

Expedition Leader : Pascale CHABANET - IRD Réunion

The Scattered Islands (Glorious, Juan de Nova, Europa, Bassas da India, Tromelin) are among the rare island spaces of the planet not undergoing human disturbance, their access being strictly regulated; only a few access authorizations are given to scientists as part of their research. From a scientific point of view, these islands are therefore extremely interesting to differentiate the share of direct human pressure on the changes observed in the ecosystems (eg fishing, coral trampling, coral reef wastewater) from those that act to global scale ("global change"). As a result, they are exceptional natural laboratories.

But there are many obstacles to overcome before having this great privilege to go to work in the Scattered Islands!
You first have to write a program that responds to a request, then it is retained to obtain funding and access authorizations. This has been the case for our BioReCIE program (Biodiversity, Resources and Conservation of the coral reefs of the Iles Eparses), selected following a CNRS call for tenders. This program met an expectation of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF) which are in charge of the management of the Scattered Islands. These islands should be classified as National Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) to enhance the protection of associated ecosystems. But the establishment of MPAs imposes a management plan that requires basic knowledge of the environment and associated communities. Given the lack of knowledge about coral reefs and to meet the needs of managers, the main objectives of the BioReCIE program are 1) to complete the data acquired on reef biodiversity through inventories (Algae, Cnidarians, Crustaceans, Molluscs, Echinoderms, Fishes ) associated with habitat mapping; 2) establish a zero point for fish resources on each of the islands. This vast program, funded by several donors (INEE, INSU, IRD, AAMP, FRB) involves about thirty researchers from more than 10 institutions (IRD, University of Reunion, University of Paris VI, Museum of Natural History of Paris, Naval School of Brest, Agro Campus of Rennes, Marine Natural Reserve of Reunion, ARVAM, Pareto, Reunion Aquarium, Museum of Natural History of Stuttgart, Oceanic Research institute of Durban).

Once the program has been financed, all that remains is to compose the ideal weather forecast, availability of each other, authorizations to visit sites, medical certificates of aptitude to leave on isolated islands, diving logistics, etc. Marion Dufresnes tour in April 2011, it is Europa which constitutes the second stage of the program BioReCIE carried out this time aboard the superb sailboat Antsiva.

Thanks to Nicolas and Anne for having offered us ideal conditions aboard their sailboat (kindness, comfort of the boat, delicious food, dive logistics, ...) to carry out our research.

A big thank you to the entire team for having each one in your way allowed to finalize all that was planned in our busy schedule. We were helped by a good weather star but also by the positive waves that pushed us at the end of this great human adventure. Friendship and curiosity are the best drivers to move forward in life as in research!

Saturday November 5th

Many already know Antsiva and find their marks. For others it is the discovery of a new universe.
Once the mountain of luggage is well set and stored in the hold, we sail. Since there are so many of us, some enjoy the pleasures of camping and the air mattress while others opt for the solution of the berth to 3.
Fortunately, a young lady's time accompanies us on this first crossing and Nicky and Maya can even sleep on the bridge.
After 36 hours of calm sailing, we anchored at Europa's anchorage on November 6th shortly before midnight.

Monday November 7th

First sunrise on Europa. The waves break on the flat in front of the weather station. But, we have no time to lose, part of the team must land with the equipment. This first descent to land is not easy and even causes some cold sweats. But finally, everything is going well: the shore crew will be able to set up their camp.

The crossed swells of the south and north make it particularly difficult the maneuver of the launching of the big annex. But thanks to the union of all the efforts and with the help of all the valiant arms, we manage to get off the diving boat without breakage or injury. Phew. !!!

For this first morning, we descend along the west coast and a small team will perform the first mapping.
The afternoon is devoted to formalities with the gendarme and the landing of luggage. Joseph gives us a beautiful demonstration of his docking qualities: the head under the water, but the luggage dry! This is also the moment for Chantale to get off the edge and join the team on the ground. Just arrived at the camp, she relaxes her arms with a small session of alteres ...
In the evening, everyone found their place. The team of happy earthlings, spartanly installed in the premises of the weather station: Joseph, Nicky, Chloe, Chantale, Maya and Lydiane and that of the happy sailors, comfortably cradled in the flanks of Antsiva: Plume, Patrick, Lionel, Ron , JB, Helene and Martine. For the duration of the mission, Chloé and Lydiane will play jumping sheep between the two teams: at sea for the dives, ashore for the evening work. Congratulations to both for their tenacity and their resistance.

Tuesday, November 8

In the morning, team work is put in place. The diving boat leaves with 6 divers while the white annex accompanies 2 apneists for the mapping points.
After lunch, Chloe and Lydiane, in charge of their collection of hydraires and algae found a pair of landladies. Meanwhile, the shore crew collected at Congres Bay. Even Chantale insisted on following this first expedition.
In the afternoon, Jean-Benoit, Plume and Lionel start mapping the mangrove while Patrick and Martine take the opportunity to drop the kayaks at the roundabout sappers and walk back on the north path.
In the evening, Maya and Lydiane are back on board to celebrate the 35 years of JB kid. Among the many gifts, the legendary turgid nipple of 'you-know-who' who seems to have fantasized more than one ...

Wednesday, November 9

Today, the team has planned a large exploration of the reef of the south coast, the least studied coast because the most exposed to wind and waves. As the sea conditions are not very serene, Antsiva will secure the annex of the divers and remains geostationary in a somewhat rough sea, ready to intervene in case of difficulties of the divers. These chained two dives. Unique dive, not by the biodiversity but especially by the magical meetings with schools of hammerhead sharks. Our divers come back on board, their eyes full of stars ... We return to the anchorage at the end of the afternoon, just in time for Chloe to return to her base on the ground. The earthlings spent a good part of the day collecting along the northern flats.

Thursday November 10th

Today, the swell has completely crashed, the sea is oil and divers will be able to tackle the exploration of the southeast coast. Two dives are scheduled: one takes place along the south-east coast, the other at the extreme east point. Hammerhead sharks, still present, continue their show. They seem even more and more curious about the activity of scientists. On the ground, the life of the scientists and especially the work of the lab are a little disturbed by the arrival of a new military contingent.
At nightfall, a small glow moves on the beach. It is Joseph who, braving mosquito attacks, tracks nocturnal crabs and crustaceans.

Friday, November 11

This morning, Nicky, Maya and Joseph have scheduled a job in the mangrove. They arrive at the boat early because you have to juggle tide times. Nicolas, who knows the passes well must accompany them in annex, drop them to the kayaks and return to Antsiva. But, they left a little too late and at the entrance of the mangrove, Nico realizes that the tide is already too low and that it can not leave any more. It is good for a whole day in the mangrove of Europa. Not unpleasant except for the fact that he had not planned this and he is in simple underpants. To hell with modesty!
He will first guide the fine team to the resurgence to try to find seaweed and crabs particular. Then, while Nicky and Maya collect, Nicolas and Joseph go kayaking to explore the inaccessible arms, always in search of new crabs.
The whole team ends up around noon to nibble and share the few cookies that serve as their lunch, then patiently wait for the rising water that will free them from the mangrove.
Return to Antsiva around 3 pm, where fresh beers and a salvage lunch await the seasoned adventurers, thirsty and somewhat burned.

Saturday, November 12

The ground crew has planned an exploration of the reef on the south coast. A long walk under the sun awaits our scientists. JB and Patrick are also part of the ballad because they want to do some mapping. The tractor and the new military contingent accompany the brave marchers.

Meanwhile, divers explore the north-east coast of the island and, during a dive, they come across the discovery of a magnificent giant Porites while large groupers move nonchalantly around them.
In the afternoon, some mapping points are made in the mangrove. We also meet the two botanists who take advantage of the unexpected presence of kayaks to inventory the plants of the mangrove.

Sunday, November 13

Last sunrise on Europa. A wonderful time is coming for this final day and the team is in full activity of the day. Plume and Patrick make a final dive on one of the stations of the global coral reef monitoring network, JB a last point carto on the flat, Lionel sieves his sand samples, the team on the ground stores the equipment of the station, the crew prepares the boat for the departure and the schedules make the comings and goings. Chantal re-embarks aboard Antsiva without difficulty. She gives herself her first bath at the back of the boat and the hammerhead sharks come to greet her. Too strong Chantal!
At 17h, everything is ready for the switchgear. We leave the anchorage and watch Europa gradually fade under the fires of the setting sun.
But the melancholy is not appropriate and the evening will be under the sign of gaiety and songs. Note the performance particularly applauded JB interpreting us masterfully Armstrong, I'm not black, I'm white skin ... Bis! Even Ron gets out of his reserve and joins his voice at the party.

Tuesday, November 15

A smooth crossing back. Decidedly this team is lucky! We arrive at the port of Tulear around 14 hours and the team can enjoy the afternoon for a new visit to the IHSM and a small tour in town.
Last night on board. Well watered and very happy. The bastard songs compete with jokes and funny stories. Even the dwarves go to the mine ... and the first takes, what already ????

Wednesday, November 16th

Landing in the early morning. Taxis wait on the dock and load a ton of luggage. Carrying out such a busy mission and such a large team is not the easiest and yet everything went wonderfully well. Thank you to all the team for its good mood and professionalism. And a big special thanks to Plume for giving us his trust and sharing his passion through this great adventure. We leave when you want ...

mattis commodo lectus eleifend quis suscipit

Inventaire et cartographie des récifs d’Europa

Plongeur en pleine missions scientifuque

Lieu : Europa

Réalisée en 2011

Mission : BioReCie 1

Chef de mission : Pascale CHABANET - IRD Réunion

Les Iles Eparses (Glorieuses, Juan de Nova, Europa, Bassas da India, Tromelin) sont parmi les rares espaces insulaires de la planète ne subissant pas de perturbation humaine, leur accès étant strictement règlementé ; seules quelques autorisations d’accès sont données aux scientifiques dans le cadre de leurs recherches. D’un point de vue scientifique, ces îles sont donc extrêmement intéressantes pour différencier la part des pressions humaine directes sur les changements observés dans les écosystèmes (ex. pêche, piétinement des coraux, eaux usées sur les récifs coralliens) de celles qui agissent à l’échelle mondiale (« global change »). De ce fait, elles constituent des laboratoires naturels exceptionnels.

Mais il y a beaucoup d’obstacles à franchir avant d’avoir ce grand privilège d’aller travailler aux Iles Eparses !
Il faut d’abord écrire un programme qui réponde à une demande, puis qu’il soit retenu pour obtenir des financements et des autorisations d’accès. Ce qui a été le cas pour notre programme BioReCIE (Biodiversité, Ressources et Conservation des récifs coralliens des Iles Eparses), retenu suite à un appel d’offres CNRS. Ce programme répondait à une attente des TAAF (Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises) qui ont en charge la gestion des Iles Eparses. Ces îles devraient être classées en statut national d’Aires Marines Protégées (AMP) afin de renforcer la protection des écosystèmes qui y sont associés. Mais la mise en place d’AMP impose un plan de gestion qui nécessite à la base des connaissances fondamentales sur l’environnement et les communautés associés. Face aux lacunes des connaissances sur les récifs coralliens et pour répondre aux besoins des gestionnaires, les principaux objectifs du programme BioReCIE sont 1) compléter les données acquises sur la biodiversité récifale à travers des inventaires (Algues, Cnidaires, Crustacés, Mollusques, Echinodermes, Poissons) associés à une cartographie des habitats ; 2) établir un point zéro des ressources en poissons sur chacune des îles. Ce vaste programme, financé par plusieurs bailleurs de fonds (INEE, INSU, IRD, AAMP, FRB) implique une trentaine de chercheurs appartenant à plus de 10 institutions (IRD, Université de La Réunion, Université de Paris VI, Muséum d’Histoire Naturelle de Paris, Ecole Navale de Brest, Agro Campus de Rennes, Réserve Naturelle Marine de La Réunion, ARVAM, Pareto, Aquarium de La Réunion, Muséum d’Histoire Naturelle de Stuttgart, Oceanic Research institute de Durban).

Une fois le programme financé, il ne reste plus qu’à composer entre météo supposée idéale, disponibilité des uns et des autres, autorisations pour se rendre sur sites, certificats médicaux d’aptitude à partir sur des îles isolées, logistique plongée, … Après la tournée du Marion Dufresnes en avril 2011, c’est Europa qui constitue la deuxième étape du programme BioReCIE réalisée cette fois-ci à bord du superbe voilier Antsiva.

Merci à Nicolas et Anne de nous avoir offert des conditions idéales à bord de leur voilier (gentillesse, confort du bateau, cuisine délicieuse, logistique plongée, …) pour mener à bien nos recherches.

Un grand merci à toute l’équipe pour avoir chacun à votre manière permis de finaliser tout ce qui était prévu dans notre planning chargé. On a été aidé par une bonne étoile météo mais aussi par les ondes positives qui nous ont poussés au bout de cette belle aventure humaine. L’amitié et la curiosité sont les meilleurs moteurs pour avancer dans la vie comme dans la recherche !

Samedi 5 novembre

Beaucoup connaissent déjà Antsiva et retrouvent leurs marques. Pour d’autres c’est la decouverte d’un nouvel univers.
Une fois la montagne de bagages bien calée et rangée dans la soute, nous appareillons. Comme nous sommes très nombreux, certains goutent aux plaisirs du camping et du matelas pneumatique alors que d’autres optent pour la solution de la couchette à 3.
Heureusement, un temps de demoiselle nous accompagne lors de cette première traversée et Nicky et Maya peuvent même dormir sur le pont.
Apres 36 heures de navigation plutot tranquille, nous jetons l’ancre au mouillage d’Europa, le 6 novembre peu avant minuit.

Lundi 7 novembre

Premier lever de soleil sur Europa. Les vagues déferlent sur le platier devant la station météo. Mais, nous n’avons pas de temps à perdre, une partie de l’équipe doit débarquer avec le matériel. Cette première descente à terre n’est pas des plus faciles et suscite même quelques sueurs froides. Mais finalement, tout se passe bien : l’équipe à terre va pouvoir installer son campement.

Les houles croisées du sud et du nord rendent particulièrement délicate la manœuvre de la mise a l’eau de la grosse annexe. Mais grâce à l’union de tous les efforts et avec l’aide de tous les bras vaillants, nous parvenons à descendre le bateau de plongée sans casse et sans blessure. Ouf. !!!

Pour cette première matinée, nous descendons le long de la cote ouest et une équipe réduite va effectuer les premiers travaux de cartographie.
L’après midi est consacrée aux formalités avec le gendarme ainsi qu’au débarquement des bagages. Joseph nous fait une belle démonstration de ses qualités de docker : la tête sous l’eau, mais les bagages au sec !!! C’est aussi le moment pour Chantale de descendre du bord et de rejoindre l’équipe à terre. A peine arrivée au camp, elle se dégourdit les bras avec une petite seance d’alteres …
Le soir, tout le monde a trouvé sa place. L’équipe des heureux terriens, spartiatement installés dans les locaux de la station météo : Joseph, Nicky, Chloé, Chantale, Maya et Lydiane et celle des joyeux marins, confortablement bercées dans les flancs d’Antsiva : Plume, Patrick, Lionel, Ron, JB, Helene et Martine. Pendant toute la durée de la mission, Chloé et Lydiane vont jouer à saute moutons entre les deux équipes : en mer pour les plongées, à terre pour les travaux du soir. Bravo a toutes les deux pour leur ténacité et leur résistance.

Mardi 8 novembre

Le matin, le travail d’équipe se met en place. Le bateau de plongée part avec 6 plongeurs tandis que l’annexe blanche accompagne 2 apneistes pour les points de cartographie.
Après le déjeuner, Chloé et Lydiane, chargées de leur collectes d’hydraires et d’algues retrouvent eur binôme terrien. Pendant ce temps, l’équipe à terre a collecté à la baie des Congres. Même Chantale a tenu à suivre cette première expédition.
L’après midi, Jean-Benoit, Plume et Lionel commencent la cartographie de la mangrove tandis que Patrick et Martine en profitent pour déposer les kayaks au rond point des sapeurs et reviennent à pied par le sentier nord.
Le soir, Maya et Lydiane sont de retour à bord pour fêter dignement les 35 ans du gamin JB. Parmi les nombreux cadeaux, le légendaire téton turgescent de ‘vous-savez-qui’ qui semble en avoir fait fantasmer plus d’une …

Mercredi 9 novembre

Aujourd’hui, l’équipe a programmé une grande exploration du récif de la côte sud, côte la moins étudiée car la plus exposée au vent et aux vagues. Comme les conditions de mer ne sont pas très sereines, Antsiva va sécuriser l’annexe des plongeurs et reste en géostationnaire dans une mer quelque peu houleuse, prêt à intervenir en cas de difficultés des plongeurs. Ceux-ci enchainent deux plongées. Plongées uniques, non par la biodiversité mais surtout par les rencontres magiques avec des bancs de requins marteaux. Nos plongeurs remontent à bord, les yeux pleins d’étoiles …Nous rentrons au mouillage en fin d’après midi, juste à temps pour que Chloé réintègre sa base à terre. Les terriens quant à eux ont passé une bonne partie de la journée à collecter le long du platier nord.

Jeudi 10 novembre

Aujourd’hui, la houle s’est complètement écrasée, la mer est d’huile et les plongeurs vont pouvoir s’attaquer à l’exploration de la cote Sud-est. Deux plongées sont programmées : une se déroule le long de la cote sud-est, l’autre à l’extrême pointe Est. Les requins marteaux, toujours présents poursuivent leur show. Ils semblent même de plus en plus curieux de l’activité des scientifiques.A terre, la vie des scientifiques et surtout le travail du labo sont un peu perturbés par l’arrivée d’un nouveau contingent militaire.
A la nuit tombée, une petite lueur se déplace sur la plage. C’est Joseph qui, bravant les attaques des moustiques, traque les crabes et crustacés nocturnes.

Vendredi 11 novembre

Ce matin, Nicky, Maya et Joseph ont programmé un travail dans la mangrove. Ils arrivent au bateau de bonne heure car il faut jongler avec les horaires de marées. Nicolas, qui connaît bien les passes doit les accompagner en annexe, les déposer vers les kayaks et revenir sur Antsiva. Mais, ils sont partis un peu trop tard et a l’entrée de la mangrove, Nico s’aperçoit que la marée est déjà trop basse et qu’il ne peut plus en sortir. Il est bon pour une journée entière dans la mangrove d’Europa. Pas désagréable, si ce n’est le fait qu’il n’avait pas prévu cela et qu’il est en simple caleçon. Au diable la pudeur !
Il va d’abord guider la fine équipe jusqu’à la résurgence pour tenter de trouver des algues et des crabes particuliers. Puis, pendant que Nicky et Maya collectent, Nicolas et Joseph partent en kayak explorer les bras inaccessibles, toujours à la recherche de nouveaux crabes.
Toute l’équipe se retrouve vers midi pour grignoter et partager les quelques biscuits qui leur fait office de déjeuner, puis ils attendent patiemment la remontée des eaux qui va les libérer de la mangrove.
Retour sur Antsiva vers 15 heures, où des bières fraiches et un déjeuner salvateur attendent les aventuriers vannés, assoiffés et passablement brulés.

Samedi 12 novembre

L’équipe terrestre a programmé une exploration du récif de la cote sud. Une longue marche sous le soleil attend nos scientifiques. JB et Patrick font également partie de la ballade car ils souhaitent faire quelques points de cartographie. Le tracteur et le nouveau contingent militaire accompagnent les courageux marcheurs.

Pendant ce temps, les plongeurs explorent la cote nord-est de l’ile et, lors d’une plongée, ils tombent sur la découverte d’un Porites géant magnifique tandis que de grosses loches évoluent nonchalamment autour d’eux.
L’après midi, quelques points de cartographie sont effectués dans la mangrove. On y croise aussi les deux botanistes qui profitent de la présence inespérée des kayaks pour inventorier les plantes de la mangrove.

Dimanche 13 novembre

Dernier lever de soleil sur Europa. Un temps magnifique s’annonce pour cette ultime journée et l’équipe est en pleine activité des le petit jour. Plume et Patrick effectuent une dernière plongée sur une des stations du réseau mondial de suivi des récifs coralliens , JB un dernier point carto sur le platier, Lionel tamise ses échantillons de sable, l’équipe à terre range le matériel de la station, l’équipage prépare le bateau pour le départ et les annexes font les va-et-vient. Chantal réembarque a bord d’Antsiva sans difficulté. Elle s’octroie son premier bain a l’arrière du bateau et les requins marteaux viennent aussitôt la saluer. Trop forte Chantal !
A 17h, tout est prêt pour l’appareillage. Nous quittons le mouillage et observons Europa s’effacer peu a peu sous les feux du soleil couchant.
Mais la mélancolie n’est pas de mise et la soirée sera sous le signe de la gaieté et des chansons. A noter la prestation particulièrement applaudie de JB nous interprétant magistralement Amstrong, je ne suis pas noir, je suis blanc de peau… Bis ! Même Ron sort de sa réserve et joint sa voix à la fête.

Mardi 15 novembre

Une traversée de retour tout en douceur. Décidemment cette équipe a de la chance ! Nous arrivons au port de Tuléar vers 14 heures et l’équipe peut profiter de l’après-midi pour une nouvelle visite à l’IHSM ainsi qu’un petit tour en ville.
Dernière soirée à bord. Bien arrosée et bien joyeuse. Les chansons paillardes rivalisent avec les blagues et les histoires drôles. Même les nains vont a la mine …et le premier prend, quoi déjà ????

Mercredi 16 novembre

Débarquement au petit matin. Les taxis attendent sur le quai et chargent la tonne de bagages.Mener à bien une mission aussi chargée et une équipe aussi nombreuse n’est pas des plus faciles et pourtant tout s’est magnifiquement bien passé. Merci à toute l’équipe pour sa bonne humeur et son professionnalisme. Et un grand merci tout particulier à Plume pour nous avoir accordé sa confiance et avoir su partager sa passion à travers cette belle aventure. On repart quand vous voulez …

tristique lectus elit. felis ut risus. luctus facilisis Curabitur Aenean massa Phasellus